Studio Lagree Review

26 May

studio lagree

I have been wanting to try a reformer pilates class for a while now and heard about Studio Lagree through another blog (www.runsoulcycle.com). Reformer pilates is done on a piece of exercise equipment that has a platform that moves back and forth on a carriage as you use your muscles for balance.

studio-lagree-reformer

When I arrived for class I knew it was going to be a good workout but I had no idea how hard it was actually going to be! These classes are for all levels but be prepared to work and take each move slowly. There was a mixture of men and women of all ages at the studio and everyone that worked there was helpful and friendly. Before the class started I was given a little low down on how this method of workout worked since it was my first time. He told me that reformer classes are meant to be super challenging and it is not actually expected you complete the workout because you want to work your muscles towards exhaustion. The reformer workout works the slow twitch muscles, you are not trying to do as many lunges in 60 seconds or as many crunches as you can, you are aiming towards doing each move slowly and your muscles will be burning and shaking. Bianca was the instructor teaching our class, she was super friendly and in excellent shape, giving me motivation that this class works! The entire workout was 50 minutes long and went by so fast, we were so busy I did not even look at the clock.

One drop in class at Studio Lagree is $35, you can buy classes in bulk for a little less. This is quite expensive but since the workout is so intense you don’t have to go all the time. It can be something you treat your body to every other week to mix things up. They also have bananas available after class for the perfect post workout snack.

***Your first class as a trial is free and you can view their schedule and sign up online at http://www.studiolagree.com

Studio Lagree is located on spadina just north of st. claire in Forest Hill, I recommend at least going in to try out. If you love the feeling of soreness after a new workout you will love this studio!

3 Responses to “Studio Lagree Review”

  1. Patty Davidson May 26, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    I did a reformer class in California and loved it. It is definitely difficult but I went at my own pace and wasn’t too sore the next day which made me feel like maybe I should have worked harder.

  2. Joy March 13, 2014 at 2:47 pm #

    I was wondering if you knew of a good home DVD that would be similar to the studio lagree workouts. I have been to a studio in Seattle and Denver when I lived there and love there workouts. I’m a traveling nurse and in some states I travel in they don’t have the lagree studios. Thanks! Joy

    • Christy L Davidson March 14, 2014 at 8:31 am #

      That is a good question. I am not sure of a DVD that would be close to the Lagree workouts because without the reformer it would be hard to replicate it at home. While they are different I do own a few Pure Barre DVDs that really good workouts for at home and on the go. Pure Barre focuses on really tiny isometric movements that tone mostly the legs, seat and abs. These are all my favourite things to tone so I find that the Pure Barre DVDs make a great travel workout. You can find them on amazon or http://www.purebarre.com

Leave a Reply

The Crafted Sparrow

Just another WordPress site

Nisim International Everything Hair

Your Expert in Hair Growth, Hair Loss and Hair Removal

RunStylish

a busy momma's life and style on the run

1000 Ways to Love Him.

Because he told me I'm his "good thing" and that's a great line.

Adventures in Polishland

Your Guide to Fabulous & Affordable Nails

BeautyObsessedJess

BeautyObsessedJess

Glam Gluttony

excessive is an understatement.

